HOME       ARCHIVE       MUSIC       CDs       PUBLISHERS       BIOGRAPHY   
CD Listing :: Carl Vine - Complete Symphonies 1-6

2-CD set
ABC Classics cat. no. ABC 476 7179

Carl Vine’s six symphonies trace concisely the evolution that brought him back to the original symphonic tradition that modernity temporarily curtailed.

Carl Vine’s metaphor for his own symphonic practice is drawn from the natural sciences: composition begins with a ‘crystal’, a musical idea whose characteristic angles and planes are explored and transformed in the course of the work’s creation. This process of transformation, of presenting material in varying lights, coupled with the composer’s sense of timing, makes for a series of works whose inherent drama is considerable.

These recordings feature the Sydney Symphony Orchestra under the batons of Edo de Waart and the late Stuart Challender, with the assistance of Synergy percussion ensemble ("Percussion Symphony") and the Sydney Philharmonia Choir ("Choral Symphony").


  • Symphony No. 1 'MicroSymphony'
  • Symphony No. 2
  • Symphony No. 3
  • Celebrare Celeberrime
  • Symphony No. 4.2
  • Symphony No. 5 (Percussion)
  • Symphony No. 6 (Choral)

For more information on this CD visit the ABC Classics website.
Buy at: [online] [Apple]
Music details: MicroSymphony   Symphony No. 2   Symphony No. 3   Symphony No. 4.2   Percussion Symphony   Choral Symphony   Celebrare Celeberrime  
See also: Orchestral   Vocal  

Search for:    
search hints